Mastering the 6 C’s of Nursing Care & 5 SMART Goals in Nursing

6C’s of Nursing Care

6 C's of Nursing Care

The 6 C’s of nursing care were developed in the United Kingdom as part of the Compassion in Practice initiative, which aimed to improve the quality of nursing care. The 6 C’s are:

1. Care

This refers to the provision of caring, compassionate, and patient-centered care. Nurses must treat their patients with dignity and respect, as well as meet their patients’ physical, psychological, and emotional requirements.

2. Compassion

This includes treating patients and their families with respect, empathy, and understanding. Nurses should make an effort to understand their patients’ points of view in order to provide support and comfort through difficult moments.

3. Competence

This is the information, abilities, and experience necessary to deliver safe and effective care. Nurses should stay current on the newest innovations in their area and continue to grow their abilities in order to provide the best care possible.

4. Communication

Effective communication with patients, relatives, and other members of the healthcare team is required. Nurses must be proficient in both verbal and nonverbal communication, as well as be able to communicate complex medical information in a clear and intelligible manner.

5. Courage

Advocating for patients and standing up for what is right, even in difficult or stressful situations, is part of this. Nurses must have the bravery to speak up when anything is wrong and try to enhance the quality of care delivered to their patients.

6. Commitment

This refers to the commitment and enthusiasm required to offer exceptional patient care. Nurses should be dedicated to their work and their patients, and they should seek to improve the lives of the people they care for.

Finally, the 6 C’s of nursing care are critical components that guide and shape nursing practice. Care, compassion, competence, communication, courage, and commitment are the 6 Cs that serve as a foundation for providing high-quality, patient-centered care. The 6 Cs are linked, and nurses must aim to uphold all 6 Cs in their everyday practice in order to provide the best possible care to their patients. The 6 Cs of nursing care symbolize the fundamental values and concepts that drive the nursing profession, emphasizing the significance of human connection, empathy, and skilled care in nursing practice. By embracing the 6 Cs, nurses can strengthen their patient connections, improve their clinical abilities, and improve healthcare outcomes for their patients.

Read more: Mastering the 6 C’s of Nursing Care & 5 SMART Goals in Nursing

“Read more about the 6 Cs of nursing care and how they are incorporated into the NHS Values and Standards of Behaviour on the NHS UK website.” – Click Here

5 SMART Goals in Nursing

SMART is an acronym that stands for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-bound. The SMART framework can be used to set goals in nursing that are clear, achievable, and effective. Here are 5 SMART goals that can be used in nursing:

1. Specific

Create a precise aim that is well-defined and obvious. A specific target, for example, could be to reduce patient falls on a specific unit by 25% over the following six months.

2. Measurable

Establish concrete and measurable goals so that progress can be tracked and assessed. A measurable aim, for example, could be to raise the number of patients who receive discharge instructions from 50% to 80% over the next quarter.

3. Achievable

Establish goals that are realistic and attainable in light of available resources and limits. For example, while it may not be possible to entirely eliminate patient infections, it may be possible to lower infection incidence by 50%.

4. Relevant

Establish relevant and essential goals for the company or unit. A meaningful aim, for example, could be to enhance patient satisfaction levels in a specific unit by 10% over the next year.

5. Time-Bound

Establish goals with a particular timeline or deadline. A time-bound aim, for example, could be to deploy a new patient safety protocol within the next three months.

Overall, employing the SMART framework can assist nurses in setting effective goals that are clear, attainable, and linked with the organization’s or unit’s priorities.

You May Also Like

Nursing Care Plan for Hypertension

Postpartum Psychosis and Postpartum Depression